Lipstick on a Pig


I’ve come to find that I’m not very good at repenting.

I know what should happen. I know that when I mess up, I should put down the fig leaves, come out of hiding, and take it to Christ. But the other day when I started to feel the Holy Spirit convicting me of sin in my life, how selfish my heart is, and how far I am from the woman I want to be, I didn’t do that. I went and curled my hair.

Yup. I went straight to the bathroom and picked up my curling iron. I tried to make myself feel better about the ugliness in my heart with outward beauty. Kind of like trying to put lipstick on a pig.

Maybe for you, it’s not hair. We all have different ways of making ourselves feel better about the junk we struggle with. But I guarantee that we all have ways of dealing with our sin that involve our avoiding repentance and taking a detour toward less important things. Maybe it’s ignoring our issues entirely. Maybe it’s using churchy behavior or good deeds as an attempt to compensate for the areas where we’ve dropped the ball.

Either way, making up the outside, running away, or modifying our behavior doesn’t deal with the root of the issue. Our hearts are what need change. Let’s put down the proverbial curling iron and let Jesus do some serious work on the inside. So we’re beautiful where it really counts.

“If my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.”
– 2 Chronicles 7:14

5 thoughts on “Lipstick on a Pig

  1. This made me laugh out loud. I know those times when I try to run from the Holy Spirit’s nudge. The Bible tells me I can’t go anywhere to get away from God (Psalm 139:7), so why do I try. I Guess it’s just the kid in me, not wanting my dad to see the mess I’ve made. So I hide it in the closet behind the hamper, but soon the smell seeps out, and then there’s no denying it.

Leave a Reply

