Silence, please?

I gravitate toward activities. Busyness. Chaos.

It’s not so much that I like having my next 8 weeks penciled into my planner; it’s just that I tend to be a “yes” girl.

“Do you want to lead a women’s small group?”

Yes.

“Can you help choreograph a dance for the show at church coming up?”

Sure.

“Would you like to volunteer with the kids’ ministry?”

Of course!

I could try to validate every activity on my calendar for the next month. I could even explain how each of them can grow my faith and glorify God.

On the surface, there is nothing wrong with having a loaded schedule. Yet in the middle of all this noise, there is very little time to be quiet with God. Time to pray. Time to meditate on His Word. Time to listen for His guidance in my life.

I get so caught up in trying to do things “for” God that I forget to just be still with God. He does not need me to do anything for Him; He has power and dominion above all. He does not want to see all the things I can accomplish; He wants to see me getting to know Him better. He’s not my boss looking over my shoulder; He is my Lord who wants an intimate face-to-face relationship.

My prayer is that I would stop seeking more activities, and that I would spend more time seeking His face.

My prayer is that I would say “yes” to Him more often!

You have said, “Seek my face.” My heart says to you, “Your face, LORD, do I seek.”
– Psalm 27:8 ESV

5 thoughts on “Silence, please?

  1. It’s interesting how when God wants to make sure you get a message He sends it many different ways. I have felt Him telling me to slow down and do the things that matter most – time with him and time with family. Even time to just be…still.

    What surprises me is how confusing it is when you think that “doing” for God is the sign of maturity when sometimes it just may be “being” with God that is the true mark of growth.

    Thanks so much for drawing our attention to the silence.

Leave a Reply

