Biblical Women

It seems to me, from my own personal reading of the Scriptures, that grace can have many different “expressions.” There is a grace that saves, a grace that sustains, a grace that enables, and plenty more. They all flow from God to undeserving sinners, freely.

Here are a few of my favorite descriptions of  biblical women. I am praying for grace-enabled impulses that would cause us to be the kind of women that look and act like the women of old.

1. Willing to go anywhere as long as God is there.

“For where you go I will go, and where you lodge I will lodge. Your people shall be my people, and your God my God.” Ruth 1:16

2. God is her inheritance and she believes her best life is yet to come. So, she can hold life on this earth loosely and risk her life for others.

“Then I will go to the king, though it is against the law, and if I perish, I perish.” Esther 4:16

3. She does not worry about the future and she doesn’t take herself too seriously.

“Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come.” Proverbs 31:25

4. Sees herself as a servant of the Lord and gladly places herself under the authority of God’s word.

“And Mary said, “Behold, I am the servant of the Lord; let it be to me according to your word.” Luke 2:38

5. She hopes in God.

“For this is how the holy women who hoped in God used to adorn themselves…”  1 Peter 3:6

So, here’s to becoming willing, risking, laughing, humble, hopeful women!

3 thoughts on “Biblical Women

  1. Love this post Danielle! Thanks for sharing :) My desire is that we exhibit all types of God’s grace to us in every moment of our lives!

  2. “Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come.” Proverbs 31:25

    How beautiful and poetic and so not me right now! She laughs… I spend hours staring at my color coded, meticulously planned google calendar… :) Oh Jesus help me be like her!!!

Leave a Reply

