Does God Like Eggs for Breakfast?

In my small group, we discussed how our earthly relationships mirror our relationships with the Lord. I shared how my parents had recently celebrated twenty-five years of marriage together.

My mom knows my dad very well. She knows what he likes and what he doesn’t like. She knows that every morning, without fail, my dad likes eggs for breakfast. I proceeded to ask my small group, in a joking way, “Does God like eggs for breakfast?”

This thought hasn’t left my mind for the last few weeks.

With my earthly relationships, I know what the people in my life do or don’t like. For example, I know my best friend hates soda and pizza. I know this because I have invested time and energy into my relationship with her. I view this in the same way I view my relationship with the Lord. God knows me, inside and out. Psalm 139:13 says, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.” God, the Creator of the universe, knows me intimately and desires a relationship with me. How much effort am I putting into my personal relationship with my Creator?

I encourage you, friends, to dive deeper in your relationship with your Father. Learn who he is. Invest time and energy into your relationship with him. Communicate with him. Figure out if he does like eggs for breakfast.

One thought on “Does God Like Eggs for Breakfast?

Leave a Reply

