The Kony Bandwagon

I was studying around the time Kony 2012 went viral. I’m not sure why I thought it was a good idea to watch this video on my break. By the seventh minute of the video, I was crying; a boy named Jacob was trying to describe what he would say to his dead brother if he could see him again. I was awkwardly tipping my head sideways and repositioning my iPad so that people couldn’t see me cry in the cafe. He was weeping, and that made me weep.  I don’t know what it’s like to lose a brother or sister due to violence, but I felt a glimpse of his pain for a moment.

As I look around and see the atrocities and corruption all around the world, I can easily feel small and helpless. Maybe you have felt this way, too. Henri Nouwen says that these feelings “depress” us. But he encourages us in this reflection on “calling”:

“We are not called to save the world, solve all problems, and help all people.  But we each have our own unique call, in our families, in our work, in our world.  We have to keep asking God to help us see clearly what our call is and to give us the strength to live out that call with trust.  Then we will discover that our faithfulness to a small task is the most healing response to the illnesses of our time.”

The Kony 2012 initiative might not be wholistic in its approach, but they are making visible these children who bear the image of Christ. They are suffering and desperate, and need physical relief as well as a chance to hear the life-saving message of the Gospel. These are children that Jesus loved well, and asked us to protect. It’s strategic of us, as Christians, to support an effort like this that is well under way and on the verge of making a huge difference.

To read full article, please visit On the Willows.

Leave a Reply

