The Anti-Psalm 46

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way, though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea…God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns… “Be still and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!”
Psalm 46:1-2, 5, 10

The anti-psalm is a more accurate and honest reflection of my heart.

In the midst of trouble I run to other people and things that can’t really protect me or support me. This proves to be more disappointing and painful than my initial troubles. Because I feel like God is far from me, and because I don’t seek refuge in him, it feels like my whole world is falling apart. I am deeply afraid. I am tossed into the heart of the sea. I am greatly shaken and morning seems like it will never come. I want to control my life and I seek to be exalted. Peace is a foreign word to me. I am restless.

I confess that I often don’t run to God in my storms. I am embarrassed to admit that I seek refuge in my own tears and self pity. I seek strength in other things, even other people.

But He is my only constant and capable refuge. He alone is strong enough to hold me with all my fears, pains, anxieties, and desires.

There are even times when trouble comes and God doesn’t seem near. But that’s a low view of His sovereignty. He is so near that it is in fact from His hand that my troubles come. Though troubles and pains are difficult, He alone is the only one greater than those troubles, more powerful than the pain.

Joy comes when I am confident that the dark nights of trials, sufferings, and afflictions will not last forever. I can rejoice in future grace: the morning will surely come. Oh, to have an unshakeable confidence in His care and His presence!

Anxiety flees when I am more concerned about exalting God’s name rather than exalting my will, my plans, and my desires. Peace truly comes when I realize that He is God, and I am not.

Leave a Reply

