Crazy Girl

 

I love when God reminds me of the gospel. It makes my heart happy to see footprints of Christ in music, movies, and stories that (on a surface level) have nothing to do with him.

There’s this country song that I love. I love it because of the singer’s strong, yet sweet voice. I love it because it has a melody that carries me away. But I especially love it because of the chorus:

Crazy girl, don’t you know that I love you?
And I wouldn’t dream of goin’ nowhere.
Silly woman, come here let me hold you.
Have I told you lately?
I love you like crazy, girl.

We all have the desire to be fully known and fully loved. We desire for someone to see all of us: wounds, scars, sin, and all; and still stick around. We desire for a person to love us unconditionally through our crazy messes.

And I think many of us fear that it’s unrealistic for people to see past those things. We are afraid that people would leave us if they saw us for who we really are.

I am fully aware of how “crazy” I am, how big my mess is, how often I fall short… But when I fall into low points where I think I’m beyond love, songs like this remind me that there is a love like this: one that pursues relentlessly, doesn’t cast me aside or walk away disappointed, and is strong and bold and unstoppable, even though Iย don’t deserve it.

When I think I’m beyond love, I remember that God loves me because of Jesus; that through Jesus’ purity and obedience, I can stand before God as a beloved daughter.

I am full of joy because I am loved by God who sent his son to a cross to redeem the crazy girls like me.

God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
– Romans 5:8

2 thoughts on “Crazy Girl

  1. I have so many comments! :)
    1. I LOVE that song. :)
    2. I know that you related it to Christ, which I love, but my brother said something to me the other night relating to earthly marriages, which came to mind after reading this post. He said, “If a Christian is looking into marriage saying to themselves, ‘Are they good enough for me?’ they’ve completely missed the point of marriage and love. The point of biblical, Christ-like love that should be expressed in marriage is, ‘I love you at your worst’.”
    3. I am a crazy girl too. :)

Leave a Reply

