Parenthood

I like to stay busy. It’s kind of “my thing.”  And it’s a good thing, because I’ve got three kids, ages 4 and under, who keep me on my toes.  A stomach virus hit 2/3 of my kids this week, keeping me in a constant state of changing diapers, doing laundry, and snuggling babies who just want to be held.

In my last post, I shared how God revealed that His plans are not always my plans, and His timing is not always my timing.  It took me a solid year to embrace this season of my life.

Amidst the laughter and tears, praise and discipline, excitement and worry, it’s safe to say that with parenthood there is never a dull moment.  Being a mom is no joke.

Here are two quotes from Give Them Grace, by Elyse M. Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson, that have stuck with me:

“I thought parenting was going to portray my strengths, never realizing that God had ordained it to reveal my weaknesses.”
– Dave Harvey

“Therefore, there will be no rest for my bones or yours unless we listen to the Word of grace and stick to it consistently and faithfully.”
– Martin Luther

The former has been good to remind me that I am a sinner in desperate need of a Savior.  I don’t always have all the answers, patience, or grace that I want or should have.  The latter has shown me where to turn in my moments of despair.

Two weeks ago, my oldest peed on the couch and then lied to me for a good hour before fessing up. I found myself furious with him for lying and being lazy, and utterly disappointed in myself for failing to receive and give God’s grace in that instant.  One of the most beautiful facets of the Gospel is that despite my short-comings (in parenting or otherwise),  I cannot affect my children’s salvation.  So when I fail my son by hardening my heart in anger, I can trust that God is bigger than my sinfulness and He can reach those who he has elected.

Parenthood is shaping my relationship with God, drawing me close to Him.  I pray that I can be used to glorify God to my kids the way they have been used to glorify God to me.

Leave a Reply

