In the Midst of Darkness

In my last post, “David After the Dentist,” I wrote, “God may not change my circumstances, but I trust that He will change my heart.”  Already, a week later, I feel that He has.

Of course, He’s not finished with me yet.  Still, I feel His peace in a new way.  My circumstances have changed—for the worse.  The beautiful, exciting truth is that my joy does not depend on the presence or absence of comfort or pain.

Today I’ve been remembering a song that I wrote based on Psalm 23.  One part goes like this:  

“Even though I walk
Through the darkest valley
I shall not fear, You are here
Even death can’t harm me

I’m comforted by
Your rod and Your staff
So even here, in the dark,
I can laugh”

Today has been a good day.  In the midst of darkness, I have felt the peace that comes from knowing my Father is protecting me and the joy that comes from meditating on His amazing love.

“Rejoice in the Lord always, I will say it again: Rejoice!  Let your gentleness be evident to all.  The Lord is near.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”
– Philippians 4:4-7

3 thoughts on “In the Midst of Darkness

Leave a Reply

