Access Denied

“The heart of man plans his way,
but the LORD establishes his steps.”
– Proverbs 16:9 ESV

God has erased and rewritten nearly every plan I’ve made in the last year.

Here are two of the big(ger) ones:

My Plan

  1. Get married.
  2. Move to Boston.

God’s Re-write

  1. Break up.
  2. Stay in San Jose.

Days after my ex-boyfriend and I had broken up, I would have told you that both the relationship and the break-up were for good; that God knew what he was doing; and that I trusted my circumstances were ultimately for my good and for His glory.

I had a deep peace. I knew in my head and trusted in my soul that everything I’d been revealed about God was true. The process of that knowledge becoming a reality that I felt to the depths of my being, however, took a little longer than a few days.

He actually healed me way more quickly than I could have planned for (no pun intended), leaving me with an even deeper confidence thatย God is faithful and that God is good; even better, that my God of peace is with me.

My New Plan

  1. Enjoy being single and living with roommates.
  2. Stay in Silicon Valley.

God’s plan is infinitely better than mine, and it gives me peace to know he re-writes my plans only to bring greater glory to himself and lead me into deeper relationship with him.

(Remind me of that when my new plan changes.)

P.S. For more on changing plans, check out Hayley’s post from a while back, “Change of Plans.”

3 thoughts on “Access Denied

Leave a Reply

