Surrendering Control

In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps.
– Proverbs 16:9

There’s something exhilarating about not knowing the future.

It’s also quite terrifying.

I’m slightly embarrassed to admit that one of my most prized possessions is my hot pink, 10×12, highlighted and color coded weekly planner.  In it, I have planned every moment of every day.  For example, this past Wednesday looked like this:

9:15-10:20  Sociology
10:25-11:40  Hang out with Jesus
11:45-12:50 English
1:00-2:00 Idol Hunting Lunch Date with Karen
2:00-5:00 Work
5:00-6:00 Dinner with Carissa
6:00-8:30 Homework
8:30-9:10 Skype with Riley
9:15-10:15 Ice Cream with Monet
10:20-?:?? Homework

This may seem excessive.  It probably is.  Having a clear, play-by-play plan gives me some sense of control.  It’s almost as if I can tell the future.

The truth is, try as I might, I cannot actually predict the future.  For example, when I planned my last week, I could not have accounted for the morning that I’d sleep through half of my sociology midterm, the seemingly random opportunity to share the gospel with my suitemate, and the much needed conversation with a close friend that would last well into the middle of the school night.

As a college student, it’s tempting to become attached to my plans for the future (or panic when I see them fail).  As scary as it is to realize that I don’t control what lies ahead, it’s almost scarier to imagine what it’d be like if I did.

Because if I did, I might put too much faith in myself.  I am so grateful for the invitation to instead surrender control and put my faith in my Father, who is for His glory and for my good.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”
-Romans 8:28

*For more on this topic, check out Hayley’s post, “Change of Plans,” and Karen’s post, “Access Denied.”

Leave a Reply

