The Word that Matters

The other day a friend and I were discussing how grateful we are for Scripture. Not only do we live in a country where it is legal to own a Bible, but we also have access to the Word of God in our very own language.

Recently I have become more and more aware of how often I take this for granted. When I refer to Scripture, it often sounds like this: “I’m pretty sure that somewhere in the Bible it might possibly say something along the lines of [awful paraphrase].”

Yet, I have managed to memorize thousands of song lyrics with perfect precision. No matter how many years come between me and the car rides to kindergarten, I will never forget the words to “I Want it That Way” by the Backstreet Boys.

What if, decades from now, instead of remembering the words to a bunch of silly songs, I actually remembered the Word that truly matters?

The God of the universe speaks.

As I’ve started to memorize and truly write these words on my heart, I find myself examining them much more closely. In breaking down chapters and verses for memorization, I am better able to meditate on and savor every word. In doing so, I am able to experience and enjoy Scripture in a way that I never would have otherwise.

4 thoughts on “The Word that Matters

  1. Helovesme316,
    Great post. Great reminder.
    I arm myself with the sword of the Spirit which is the Word of God.
    Some of my personal favs are, John 3:16 ,
    Hebrews 4:2 NIV 84 or NKJV,
    JOHN 5:39-42, Eph. 1:13,14.
    Thanks for reminding me how vital it is to be armed and ready..
    C.C.T.

  2. This was a wonderful reminder. I recently realized and savored the importance of memorizing His word. Makes me think of Psalm 119:11, “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.”

Leave a Reply

