Hands and Feet

Three of the many things that God has given me a love for in life are music, mission, and adoption.  So when I learned that the members of one of my favorite rock bands from back in the day had founded a Christ-centered orphanage in Haiti, it was Christmas come early.  Here it is:

“Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress.”
– James 1:27

In 2004, the members of the music group Audio Adrenaline founded the Hands and Feet Project.  The project, inspired by fan reaction to their song “Hands and Feet,” is a non-profit organization dedicated to bringing long-term, family style care for orphaned and abandoned children.  Their mission is “to care for the orphaned and abandoned children of the world with the love of Christ.”  They started with one children’s village in Cyvadier and now have multiple locations across the southern peninsula.

When the 7.0 magnitude earthquake that struck Haiti in 2010, both project sites, Jacmel and Grand-Goâve, were severely damaged, many parts beyond repair.  Yet none of the children or staff was injured.

While Audio Adrenaline officially disbanded as a group in 2006, the Hands and Feet Project continues to grow and hopes to be caring for one thousand orphans by 2016.

“Our vision is two fold.  First, we will strive to raise a generation of orphaned children who will grow up to reach their God-given potential.  Second, we will empower first world citizens to partner with us in service at home and abroad.”
– Hands and Feet Project Vision

For more information on the Hands and Feet Project, please visit here.

I want to be your hands
I want to be your feet
I’ll go where you send me
I’II go where you send me
And l try, yeah I try
To touch the world like
You touched my life
And I find my way
To be your hands
– “Hands and Feet,” Audio Adrenaline

Leave a Reply

