Righteous Tweets

“Be careful not to do your ‘acts of righteousness’ before men, to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.”
– Matt 6:1

Our giving, prayer, and fasting shouldn’t be paraded around so that others praise us (Matt 6:2-18).

It is a tough thing to put into practice. We naturally want some recognition or credit, but we should do good things from a place of humility and security, where we know that we are loved and accepted–not on our own merit, but on Jesus’.

Recently, I’ve been really convicted about what I post on Twitter. If Jesus were to give the Sermon on the Mount to a group of us here today, especially in the Silicon Valley, he would probably address how we use social media.

We post content on Facebook/Twitter based on whom we think is watching. We edit what we say to sound a little more holy, a little more put together than we really are. Our motivation to share what God teaches us isn’t for His glory.

There are times that I’ll consciously think about who could read what I say, and I wonder what they’ll think of me and how they’ll perceive me when they read it. It’s like I need to prove to the world who I am–to prove I know the Gospel, to prove I love Jesus.

It is so silly.

We want to look holy. We’re concerned with our appearance. We don’t believe that our identity has already been established by Jesus, because Jesus did what we couldn’t do.

I’m not ragging on social media. I’ve got accounts on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, LinkedIn, whatever you can think of. I love them and I think they are a great platform for sharing the gospel. But, like anything, we need to be careful of our motives.

Next time you post, ask yourself, “Who is this really for?”

Check your heart before you hit “send.”ย Some things are better left untweeted.

2 thoughts on “Righteous Tweets

  1. I truly believe that some of the best ways to let God work is by NOT tweeting, and watching God work in spite of your lack of tweet. He will teach people things even without your brilliant 140-character insight. It’s true. Thanks for the post Meliss :)

Leave a Reply

