Fighting for Joy

No one in my immediate family is a Christian, so I often find myself bouncing back and forth between two extremes: attempting to save them (control idol) and hardening my heart towards them (comfort idol). I fight my sin with more sin, and end up in with a calloused heart and a family that feels manipulated.

The four verses in the above picture are the verses I made for my bedroom wall. Each verse reminds me of a different facet of the gospel, and on days (like today) that I find myself needing to drown my feelings in truth, I lay in bed and preach to myself.

Regardless of circumstance, I get God.

Though the fig tree should not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines, the produce of the olive fail and the fields yield no food, the flock be cut off from the fold and there be no herd in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord; I will take joy in the God of my salvation.
– Habakkuk 3:18 (emphasis added)

I cannot save. God saves.

Remember that you were at that time separated from Christ… having no hope and without God in the world. But now in Christ Jesus you who were once far off have been brought near by the blood of Christ.
– Ephesians 2:12-13

God is sovereign! I get to wait on him and pray.

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.
– Romans 12:12

Listen. obey.

Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts.
–  Hebrews 4:7

When I fight sin with sin, sin still wins.

But by God’s grace, I get to fight sin with truth and Spirit-enabled power.

It is a beautiful tension. By the grace of God, I can experience deep compassion and heartache for the lost, yet deep joy and peace in God’s sovereignty.

3 thoughts on “Fighting for Joy

  1. Drawn back to this post tonight. “when I fight sin with sin, sin still wins” — brilliant. And of course the blessed turn of the page: by God’s grace, we get to fight with truth and power of the Holy Spirit. Love this. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

