A Grace That Untwists

A couple of months ago, I was going through some hard things. So when my friend Riley texted me out of the blue and asked how I was doing, I was honest with her: emotionally, spiritually, and physically, I felt like a total wreck.  I described my heart just feeling so helplessly twisted.

I was startled by her response. “I’m so sad, but happy to hear that,” she said.  “I can’t wait to hear about and see the ways God shows you His unfathomable grace in new ways through and by Him untwisting your heart.”

I’m so grateful for the way God spoke through her in that moment.  Her simple, Spirit-filled words set the tone for the weeks that followed in which God would begin to heal, grow, and transform me.

She reminded me that I cannot, on my own, “untwist” my heart.  I need Him to untwist it for me.   The more I find myself feeling vulnerable and utterly helpless, the more I am able to understand my desperate need for my Father’s love, protection, and grace.

In realizing this desperate need, I am able to pray for rescuing, rather than pridefully depend on my own fragile strength.  Then, when I am rescued, I am set free to worship and celebrate my Rescuer.  My Hero.  My Savior.

What a beautiful thing it is to know our God has the power to untwist and romance even the most mangled heart with His “unfathomable grace.”

One thought on “A Grace That Untwists

Leave a Reply

