Adopted

See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God…
– 1 John 3:1 ESV

I am the only Christian in my biological family, so being adopted into God’s family was something that I have known in my head for a while, but feeling adopted into God’s family–belonging in God’s family–didn’t really start hitting my heart until being a part of Garden City Church for the last year(ish).

3 things that I more deeply understand about God’s family:

1. I am known, I am loved.

This church family has seen more of my crap in the year that they’ve known me than most people have in my life, yet they meet me where I’m at and remind me of the deep love God has extended to me through Jesus. I feel safe to come out of my shell, safe to reveal my half-masked self, safe to be “not OK” when I’m not OK.

2. I don’t do life alone.

When my idols are brought to light, I often withdraw, run away, and harden my heart. God has used this church family to chase after me, not let go of me, and pierce my dark heart with grace. They speak truth to my soul, remind me of my identity in Jesus, and patiently wait with me as I try to get back on my feet.

(They also give good hugs.)

3. I want to invite people in.

Now that I’ve tasted and seen what life is like in a family, I want everyone I know to experience it too. For the first time, I’m a part of a family who looks outward and wants to see more people be (and feel) adopted into the family.

Belonging in the family of God pushes me to extend the family of God to my biological family–for them to taste and see the ultimate family they are invited into.

I love my family. :)

Side Note: The pictures below were taken last weekend at Henry Cowell State Park when I went a hike with two women from my Neighborhood Group through Garden City Church, my adopted family!

Leave a Reply

