Sanctification in Wedding Planning

843980_574229279360_1467130919_o

Surprise! I’m getting married!

My boyfriend (now fiancé) proposed to me last weekend in Capitola, CA. We set a date with our parents the evening he proposed, and found that we had 77 days of engagement before we say “I do.”

(Side note: The date we set is April 20th, a.k.a. “420” — with high spirits.)

I’m 4 days into wedding planning and have already seen my sinful, self-centered nature pop up many times. I find myself getting sucked into the lie that this wedding is somehow about me–my dreams, my desires, my guest list, me, me, me, me, me.

Now don’t get me wrong. I want to celebrate the union between Chad and me with my family and friends. I want to throw a party, celebrate Jesus in the gift and ministry of marriage, and have a good time.

But at the end of it all, I want it to honor God. I don’t want the reasons driving my actions to be about the kingdom of Karen, but the kingdom of God.

Jesus calls us to die to ourselves. He teaches us that until we die to our small life, we cannot experience true life–a greater life with a good king whose vision is far greater than we can imagine. (John 12:20-26*)

So, I’m 4 days in. 73 more days of sanctification in wedding planning before the reality that I have sanctification that comes in marriage to begin. It’s gonna be fun. It’ll be full of trials, full of joy, full of repentance, and full of grace.

I am grateful for this season. I am especially grateful that I have been given a man who leads me to Jesus, and that his love for me is not driven by my performance or selflessness, but by Christ. He sees Christ in me, he sees my sin, and he fights my sin with me.

What an evidence of sanctifying grace — in wedding planning.

Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit. Whoever loves his life loses it, and whoever hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life.
– John 12:24-25

*Reference made from Garden City Church sermon from 2/3/13

4 thoughts on “Sanctification in Wedding Planning

  1. Karen! This is such an exciting time in your life, I know just how you are feeling and the temptation to make it all about you. Seth and I viewed our wedding as the biggest outward message to our friends and family about Christ that we could make. Keeping that in perspective made the details all the less important :)

Leave a Reply

