S.O.S. Re-Launch

Sermon Notes, November 2011

When I started this blog in March of 2012, my desire was to see a community of women share their unique thoughts, gifts, and stories onto a collaborative blog for women. It didn’t take long for me to see that it was a bit of a stretch as a goal, and that I don’t have the capacity to manage/edit a blog with multiple contributors.

So it’s time for a re-launch of Substance Over Shadows!

The Name

Substance Over Shadows is inspired by Colossians 2:17, which reads, “These are a shadow of the things to come, butย the substance belongs to Christ.” My hope is that as you read the stories, see the pictures, and get glimpses into my life, that it would be a reflection of the greater story and point you to Jesus.

The Author

My name is Karen. I am a Christian, wife, sister, friend, small business owner, and a work in progress. I live in San Jose, California, and my interests include (but are not limited to): theology, fitness, grammar, sunsets, dark chocolate, and pencilligraphy.

Why Blog?

I blog for 3 reasons:

  1. Sanity.
    I publish select journal entries because it helps me process through my life. It forces me to think through my emotions and attempt to coherently share God at work in my life through print (or whatever the online publishing term for that is).
  2. Story.
    Everybody has a story, people like stories, and stories are powerful. God uses stories to draw people to himself, so I blog to share stories in hopes to shadow the gospel.
  3. Fun.
    I like to write, but I’m also a perfectionist who takes myself too seriously. Since I know my writing is imperfect, and publishing my imperfect writing at the expense of being ridiculed or disliked is risky, so making myself publish something on the internet is my attempt to have fun.

So, here goes nothing. I’m back!

Leave a Reply

