Romans 12:15 in Action

2860 miles

Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.
– Romans 12:15

On Tuesday morning my mother-in-law passed away out of (what seemed to be) nowhere. She was 46 years old. It is unclear whether she knew Jesus.

This week has been filled with much sorrow, deep anguish, and lots of tears. Yes, there is great hope that “for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose” (Romans 8:28); and yes, there is deep trust that there is a day that Jesus will return and beat death forever. But this week God has been teaching me empathy, and my action step has been to weep with those who weep.

Today, however, I get to express empathy through rejoicing.

Today I get to rejoice in the new covenant between my dear friend Neva, her soon-to-be-in-like-an-hour husband Ben, and God.

I rejoice that God has called Neva to be his daughter through the saving work of Jesus Christ.

I rejoice that God saw it fit to cross our lives when we were 17 years old and really dumb; that he chose to use our friendship to point each other to Jesus, even when we weren’t walking with him at the time.

I rejoice that God moved her so far away after college so that she could grow in her faith and meet Ben.

I rejoice that today Neva gets to begin a new chapter of her life as a wife, and experience the power and love of Jesus through marriage.

I rejoice that God will use #Gebelhein for his glory, that their marriage would be a shadow of the gospel, and that people would see Jesus through them.

And I rejoice that I get to rejoice with Neva and Ben — even from 2,860 miles away — because of our great God and his grace, allowing us to “rejoice with those who rejoice” and “weep with those who weep.”

Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.
– Romans 12:15

2 thoughts on “Romans 12:15 in Action

  1. !!! I’m sitting in the airport waiting for our flight and finally had a chance to read this- and now I’m crying. Thank you for your sweet encouragement and for your years of friendship and as Sisters in Christ! We are rejoicing for what The Lord has done and what he’ll continue to do. I’m also weeping with you and Chad from afar, while trusting God has you both in his loving hand. Much love from 2860 miles away…

Leave a Reply

