Why Pencilligraphy?

Nothing quenches a thirsty soul more effectively than the word of God.

I started “pencilligraphying” scripture for two reasons:

1. Thinking.

I too easily gloss over deep truths in the Bible. I’m easily distracted, poor at reading comprehension, and don’t think deeply unless I’m actively doing something. Writing it (often very slowly) pushes the truth deeper into my head, and sometimes God takes it all the way to my heart.

2. Remembering.

It’s fun to look back on old Pencilligraphy. It’s like old pictures, except with Bible verses. I get to be reminded of specific stories and situations, and of who God is/what he’s done. Sometimes it’s sweet, sometimes it’s bitter, sometimes it’s a combination of both. But every time, it points me to Jesus.

Psalm 23 (Pencilligraphy image above) was written (drawn?) the morning after my mother-in-law passed away 3 weeks ago. As I re-read through it, I remember waking up that morning knowing that there was nothing I could take comfort in outside of Jesus himself; that the best way to support Chad was to take care of myself and seek  Jesus. So while Chad sat next to me reading his Bible and writing his thoughts (which later turned into this blog post), I wrote out Psalm 23.

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures.

He leads me beside still waters.

He restores my soul.

He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil, for you are with me;

your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;

you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me

all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord

forever.

Nothing quenches a thirsty soul like the word of God.

One thought on “Why Pencilligraphy?

Leave a Reply

