Unlike Olaf, I don’t get a personal “flurry”

Olaf (from the movie Frozen) is a snowman created by a girl’s magical powers. He is very happy and very cute.

Olaf lives in a land that is always winter, and there’s a song that he sings about summer that is meant to give you a good laugh. It is titled “In Summer” and you can watch the clip from the movie here.

The irony of the song is found in the fact that a snowman would never be able to experience summer. (It would melt.) Something that Olaf thought he wanted so badly would also be the very thing that would destroy him.

As I laughed along at the thought of how naive and foolish Olaf was in his dream, I couldn’t help but think of how similar I actually am to him. Though I am not a snowman and can live through different seasons, the dreams of seemingly good things combined with my naiveté often make me lose touch with reality; I often end up wanting things/circumstances that wouldn’t actually be good for me.

At the end of the movie (spoiler alert–though if you haven’t watched the movie by now I don’t know whether you’d care), Olaf’s creator Elsa gives him his personal snowing cloud, which he refers to as a “flurry” (see below), to keep him alive despite the season.

bf072ec5ed3d29fe723b7c88a74ee6aa.jpg

Unlike Olaf, I don’t get a personal ecosystem that caters to my dreams… but I do know that whatever is given to me is good and perfect from a Creator who has given me everything through Jesus.

And that trumps personal flurries any day. :)

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.
James 1:17 ESV

Leave a Reply

