Ask. Seek. Knock. God is a good Father.

But I, through the abundance of your steadfast love, will enter your house.
Psalm 5:7

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened. Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent? If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!
Jesus, Matthew 7:7

Long days, weeks, months will come. It’s easy to sit in our anxiety, passively hoping the Lord will speak; however, Jesus says to ask, seek, knock — our Father in heaven gives good gifts to his children. He is the good Father who doesn’t withhold his presence from his children.

The #pencilligraphy pictured above was the product of when I finally stopped to ask, seek, and knock for the presence of God. It was a week where it seemed nothing was happening according to plan, and quite frankly I didn’t expect for God to show up. I sketched out the verse that had stuck out to me earlier in the week (Psalm 5:7), acknowledging with my mind that it’s by grace alone that I am able to be in the presence of a holy God… and asked that the Lord would speak to my heart as I doodled.

And so I filled in my pencilligraphy (well, ball-point-pen-illigraphy) and waited.

And waited some more.

Then I got frustrated. It felt like I only got more anxious as I sat and “spent time with Jesus.”

Yet as I thought through the scripture I was doodling and begged the Spirit to do something, my heart eventually began to soften and the anxiety began to subside. As I persisted in finishing the doodling that I started even though I didn’t “feel” like it, the Lord met me where I was at.

He gave me the best gift ever: his presence. He reminded me of how big of a sinner I am, yet how much bigger his grace is for me through Christ. He let me relax in his love.

Through the abundance of his steadfast love, I entered his house.

Thank you Jesus!

Leave a Reply

