Motherhood and Sabbath

A few years ago I wrote a post called “4 Practical Tips for Sabbath” with (shocker) some practical tips for sabbath:

  1. Make time for sabbath.
  2. Plan something fun for sabbath.
  3. Prepare for sabbath.
  4. Rest on sabbath.

Sabbath looks very different now that I’ve gone from full-time corporate employee to 24/7 stay-at-home mom. I’m only 13 weeks in and have found that it takes more and more intentionality as life gets busier, and I’m so grateful my former pastor/boss Justin drilled that into me back in 2011.

Anyhow, a couple months ago I realized while conversing with a friend that I hadn’t really taken a sabbath since before Madelyn was born. Since my workplace/life all jumble in to one space, my to-do list is basically constantly in my face. There is always something to clean, laundry to do, chaos to organize… and as a type-A, hyper-responsible person who doesn’t like to enjoy life (joke), I had to sit down and rethink how I did Sabbath.

Here is how I implement my 4 practical tips:

  1. Make time: I set my sabbath Friday evening-Saturday evening most weeks. Chad has Fridays & Saturdays off, I don’t teach Pure Barre classes, and it gives me Fridays to do responsible things (ie. grocery shopping) with Chad home to watch M.
  2. Plan something fun: We typically plan an outing or have someone over. Sometimes I just plan to do something irresponsible, like get lunch from Whole Paycheck Foods.
  3. Prepare: I do all necessary organization and cleaning (laundry, dishes, vacuuming, clutter-ridding) the day before sabbath. That way if something happens (ie. spit-up disaster), I know I did all that was in my power and I didn’t set myself up for stress.
  4. Rest: This one takes the most effort, because in a go-go-go culture & busy-busy-busy mentality, it’s hard to stop and remember how beloved I am as a daughter of God in Christ. It’s hard to be mindful about rest. For my birthday, though, Chad got me a coloring book that I bust out on days/moments I need to stop and remember how much Jesus has done for me (but don’t have the capacity to soak in a ton of text).

Anyhow, what sabbath looks like is a moving target in this season of life, but one verse that I keep looking back to is Hebrews 4:9-12 (emphasis added on v. 11):

So then, there remains a Sabbath rest for the people of God, for whoever has entered God’s rest has also rested from his works as God did from his. Let us therefore strive to enter that rest, so that no one may fall by the same sort of disobedience. For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.
Hebrews 4:9-12 ESV

Rest for your soul is freely given, but hard to enter into and fully enjoy. Let us strive to enter that rest. Enjoy your sabbath!

Leave a Reply

