The Danger of Moving On Too Quickly

This week three years ago, my mother-in-law passed away (what seemed to be) out of nowhere. Though it didn’t surprise God, it surprised me. Chad and I had been married just over 4 months and we were about to close our failing business (our first major failure individually and together). Marriage had been hard and there was a lot we had yet to work through in our relationship… and then this hit. As I reflect on my MIL’s life this week, I thought it would be a good opportunity to reblog this post from Chad. I hope it reminds you as it reminded me of how important it is to grieve well.

Chad A. Francis

Nothing can prepare you for tragedy. When tragedy comes, it’s going to mess you up. That’s why they call it a tragedy. It’s tragic. Something has gone horribly wrong. You can either be wrecked by it or you can be numb and seek false comforts that will disconnect you from the reality going on around you.

My mom died suddenly and unexpectedly at the age of 46 this week. The reaching out of friends and family during this time has been incredible – few times have I felt more loved than this. And yet in so many of the messages I’ve received, there’s been this very well-intentioned theme of minimizing the sorrow, trying to explain why its all ok and why we’ll be able to move on. Again I know the intention is good, people are caring for me the best way they know how, but I’m learning that to…

View original post 1,036 more words

Leave a Reply

