The Abundant Life

It is easy for me to set my hope in my circumstance rather than in Christ who will return and make all things right. It is easy for me to find joy in my accomplishments rather than in the God who calls me “beloved” regardless of my success. It is easy for me to find my identity in the praise of people rather than in the One who made me and saved me, regardless of me. So naturally, when my circumstances turn for the worse, when I fail to achieve my goals, or when fear of man kicks in, my joy is shaken. (Or to put it more explicitly, my deeply rooted sin reveals itself in my attitude and actions.)

And yet God is gracious. He brought to remembrance for me two quotes this morning from Teddy Roosevelt and Jesus. It served as a reminder to me this morning to fight for joy, so I thought I would share.

“The thief only comes to steal + kill + destroy. I (Jesus) came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.” John 10:10

It is easy for me to set my hope in my circumstance rather than in Christ who will return and make all things right. It is easy for me to find joy in my accomplishments rather than in the God who calls me "beloved" regardless of my success. It is easy for me to find my identity in the praise of people rather than in the One who made me and saved me, regardless of me. So naturally, when my circumstances turn for the worse, when I fail to achieve my goals, or when fear of man kicks in, my joy is shaken. (Or to put it more explicitly, my deeply rooted sin reveals itself in my attitude and actions.) . And yet God is gracious. He brought to remembrance for me two quotes this morning from Teddy Roosevelt and Jesus. It served as a reminder to me this morning to fight for joy, so I thought I would share. . "The thief only comes to steal + kill + destroy. I (Jesus) came that they may have life, and have it abundantly." John 10:10

A post shared by Karen Francis (@_kaiwen) on

Leave a Reply

