Sensitive Subject(s) + Social Media

OK, just thoughts on one subject: abortion.

Yesterday was Sanctity of Human Life Day and 44 years since Roe v. Wade.

I am pro-life and believe life begins at conception, but I cringed when I read some of the status updates that came across my Facebook news feed and felt a heaviness around how to engage on social media (or whether to engage at all).

On the one hand, I see the need to call abortion what it is–it is murder. It ends a life that is not your own and is a horrific act of selfishness. But on the other hand, I see the need for compassion, for grace. I have walked with women (and know of women) who have made the decision to abort and know that not everyone has the grace to see what I see.

While the unborn need advocates, so do the women carrying the unborn. While we need to call sin out for what it is, only Jesus can change a heart & make people see. Only Jesus can make the darkness desire the light… and sometimes posting a blanket statement that, while true, is not gracious and “seasoned with salt,” it hardens rather than softens.

Anyhow, I went back and forth wondering whether I should jump in and post my thoughts on social media, and ultimately decided to stay silent (shocker, I know). I loved some of the posts I saw yesterday, but I realized I didn’t need to broadcast all my thoughts on abortion for me to shamelessly #standforLIFE.

Leave a Reply

