Adoption and Treasures

At Community Group this week (CGs are our midweek small groups at Living Water Church) we talked about what God was teaching us about himself and how that impacted us lately, and since it revolves around our adoption story I figured it would be fitting to write about it here. 

Our women’s Bible study just finished a study by Jen Wilkin on Jesus’ famous Sermon on the Mount. (Highly recommend.) Among the many things he teaches his followers, a passage that keeps coming back to mind is what he says in Matthew 6:21, “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Emphasis mine.)

Our family has been going through the adoption process for about 6 months, and were matched this month with a birth mom who is due with a baby girl in July! We are so thrilled to have her pick us to parent her precious child, and have been having fun getting to know her story, sharing the gospel with her, and trying to love her as best as we can for the coming season. 

I wish I could say that it’s all been easy peasy, but the reality of it is that while the relational side of it takes a smaller act of faith on my end, the financial aspect has been revealing selfishness and, well, more selfishness that has been humbling, to say the least. 

Since I became a Christian, giving has been something I’ve practiced. It’s even something I feel I’ve been given an extra measure of grace from the Lord to do. I love giving gifts, and have been increasingly stretched to give more and more as my faith in the Lord has deepened. 

When it came to adoption, Chad and I knew that we were called. We knew it would be costly in our time, energy, and money. 

What we didn’t know was that we would be matched in a situation that would stretch up to the absolute max of our budget, and that the financial cost would drain a significant chunk of the remainder of our savings. While we trust that the Lord provides, and know retirement is far away, it is still hard to watch an account drain, regardless of the reason. Especially for a type-A saver who has a tendency to have control issues. 

As I hit “confirm” on our initial wire transfer (50% of the total amount), I could feel that I didn’t really want to. I was probably at 60% at best. It was an ugly, selfish, consumeristic thought–as if the money in our account was actually ours. It was an act of faith, which I later realized was so clearly in scripture. 

“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Emphasis, again, mine.)

Jesus doesn’t say your heart is where your treasure is already. If my treasure is in heaven, if my treasure is given to “the least of these,” my heart will be also. It’s okay for it to be hard, because it’s ultimately an act of faith. It’s supposed to be hard. 

As I’m typing I’m realizing — every time I’ve been stretched further than I thought I could go, specifically financially, it was hard. I was never 100% joyful and giving in the moment, but what God promises is that my heart ends up where my treasures lie. 

What freedom there is in Christ to be able to repent and believe that someday, when I see Jesus, my heart will finally be where my deepest treasure is, as imperfectly as I walk in it on this side of eternity!

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭6:19-21‬

Leave a Reply

