Call to Clarity

One morning I managed to get halfway to my car before realizing I didn’t have contacts in.

In the short time between when I woke up and when I left my apartment, I had grown comfortable with my blurry vision; it felt normal.

I had forgotten that I could see more clearly.

In 2 Peter 1:3-9, Peter communicates three things to Christians:

  1. He reminds them of their identity in Christ; that their ability to live righteous lives is by God’s power and not their own (v. 3-4).
  2. He calls them to make every effort to supplement their faith with godly qualities (v. 5-7).
  3. He exhorts them to increase in those qualities; that if those qualities are not increasing, they are walking as unbelievers, so nearsighted they are blind (v. 8-9).

Therefore, brothers, be all the more diligent to confirm your calling and election, for if you practice these qualities you will never fall. For in this way there will be richly provided for you an entrance into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.
(2 Peter 1:10-11)

The beautiful tension in Christian faith is that though we will not experience complete sanctification on this side of eternity, we are promised clearer vision, deeper joy, and increasing Christ-like qualities as we relentlessly pursue our gracious God.

May we not be so easily satisfied with how dimly we see.

2 thoughts on “Call to Clarity

Leave a comment